Applications must be returned by 1st December 2021 by 5pm.

Bangor City Council has a vacancy for an Interim Town Clerk (Fixed Term Contract 6 months, up to 37.5 hours per week)

Salary: £38,890 (to be paid pro rata if working part time)

Start date: Preferably week beginning 13th December 2021

Due to the recent resignation of our City Director we are seeking an interim Town Clerk for our City Council whilst we recruit permanently.

Are you committed to serving the community?

Are you a careful administrator, a good communicator and an enthusiastic manager? Would you consider joining Bangor City Council as our interim Town Clerk?

Bangor is a small city in north west Wales, located between the Menai Straits and the Snowdonia mountains. Bangor is a University city and is the oldest city in Wales, housing a near 1500 year old Cathedral. Bangor has many attractions, including Bangor Garth Pier, owned and managed by the City Council.

We are seeking a dynamic and collaborative individual to serve the Council and the city over the coming months. You will be a self-starter, able to show initiative and to think on your feet. You will understand the functions of a town/community council.

The successful candidate will need to build a wide range of positive relationships with councillors, staff, residents, businesses and other organisations. You will also manage our small team of staff and take overall responsibility for all the City Council’s administrative functions.

The interim Town Clerk is expected to be fully involved in supporting the Council to:

  • Manage the day-to-day affairs of the City Council: manage expenditure, organise Council and Committee meetings, provide support to members, represent the Council on external meetings
  • Engage with the community to identify their needs, priorities and wishes, respond to queries/complaints from the public
  • Show due regard to advance equality of opportunity for all residents

The successful candidate will:

  • Ideally hold a minimum of an ILCA/CiLCA qualification
  • have proven experience in administration
  • have a good understanding of local government and strong communication and IT skills
  • be familiar with accounting practices and financial management
  • be an effective manager of a staff team
  • Welsh language skills: desirable but not essential for this post

For an informal discussion about this opportunity please contact Iwan Williams, City Director on 07591 833760.

To apply please send your current CV and a covering letter stating how you can assist our city to townclerk@bangorcitycouncil.com


Closing date 5pm Wednesday 1st December 2021.

Interviews anticipated week beginning Monday 6th December 2021.

Enid Parry

Enid Parry

Ward: Deiniol

Political Party: Independent


01248 354670

Cllr-Enid-Parry@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

John Wyn Williams

John Wyn Williams

Ward: Dewi

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


01248 370737 - 07989134456

Cllr-John-Wyn-Williams@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Huw Wyn Jones

Huw Wyn Jones

Ward: Garth

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


01248 351331 - 07776132277

Cllr-Huw-Wyn-Jones@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Elin Mair Walker Jones

Elin Mair Walker Jones

Ward: Glyder

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


07808472204

Cllr-Elin-Walker-Jones@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

John Wynn Jones

John Wynn Jones

Ward: Hendre

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


01248 352670 - 07734173407

Cllr-John-Wynn-Jones@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Luke Tugwell

Luke Tugwell

Ward: Hirael

Political Party: Welsh Labour


01248 354625 - 07584 673 716

Cllr-Luke-Tugwell@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Derek Charles Hainge

Derek Charles Hainge

Ward: Marchog

Political Party: Welsh Labour


01248 355610 - 07899758195

Cllr-Derek-Charles-Hainge@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Charles Dylan Fernley

Charles Dylan Fernley

Ward: Marchog

Political Party: Independent


07874 225209

Cllr-Charles-Dylan-Fernley@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Ifan James

Ifan James

Ward: Menai

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


07794000817

Cllr-Ifan-James@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Mair Rowlands

Mair Rowlands

Ward: Menai

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


07912 433202

Cllr-Mair-Rowlands@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Kieran Luke Ashton Jones

Kieran Luke Ashton Jones

Ward: Deiniol

Political Party: Welsh Labour


07932 830090

Cllr-Kieran-Jones@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Gareth Roberts

Gareth Roberts

Ward: Dewi

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


01248 372930 - 07540265886

Cllr-Gareth-Roberts@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Lesley Day

Lesley Day

Ward: Garth

Political Party: Independent


01248 355180 - 07878108879

Cllr-Lesley-Day@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Gwynant Owen Roberts

Gwynant Owen Roberts

Ward: Glyder

Political Party: Plaid Cymru


07894300329

Cllr-Gwynant-Owen-Roberts@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Owen J M Hurcum

Owen J M Hurcum

Ward: Glyder

Political Party: Independent


07753163254

Cllr-Owen-Hurcum@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Medwyn Hughes

Medwyn Hughes

Ward: Hendre

Political Party: Independent


01248 354652 - 07803723976

Cllr-Medwyn-Hughes@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

George Francis Turner

George Francis Turner

Ward: Hirael

Political Party: Welsh Labour


01248 364234 - 07717525021

Cllr-George-Turner@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

Nigel Pickavance

Nigel Pickavance

Ward: Marchog

Political Party: Independent


01248 370166 - 07944694801

Cllr-Nigel-Pickavance@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

John Michael Martin

John Michael Martin

Ward: Menai

Political Party: Liberal Democrats


01248 370557

Cllr-John-Michael-Martin@bangorcitycouncil.gov.wales

To contact the Councillors by post, please write to: City Council Offices, Ffordd Gwynedd, Bangor, Gwynedd, LL57 1DT